// On Release

Exit Through The Giftshop


Exit Through the Gift Shop is a 2010 British documentary film directed by street artist Banksy.

It tells the story of Thierry Guetta, a French immigrant in Los Angeles who, over the course of several years, filmed a host of street artists at work, including Shepard Fairey and Banksy, but failed to do anything with the footage. Eventually, Banksy decided to use the footage to make a documentary, which includes new footage depicting Guetta’s rise to fame as the artist “Mr. Brainwash”. In addition to narration read by Rhys Ifans, the story is largely related by Banksy himself, whose face is obscured and voice altered to preserve his anonymity. Geoff Barrow composed the film’s score, and Richard Hawley’s “Tonight The Streets Are Ours” plays during the opening and closing credits. The film premiered at the 2010 Sundance Film Festival on 24 January 2010, and it was nominated for Best Documentary Feature at the 83rd Academy Awards.

// Director


// Producer

Jaimie D’Cruz


// Won

Toronto Film Critics Association Award
Best First Feature

Independent Spirit Award
Best Documentary Feature

Washington D.C. Area Film Critics Association Award
Best documentary

Next Production McCullin